Off to a Good Start

goodstart

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. Lamentations 3:22-23

With the Rio Olympics just over, the world got to watch Usain Bolt, the sprinter from Jamaica win three gold medals for the third time.  He won the 100 and 200 meter events and the 400-meter relay.  A remarkable career of nine gold medals by an engaging individual over three separate Olympics.  The defining photo of him occurred in the 100-meter semi-final race when he turned around and smiled at a camera ahead of his competition, even though he had not yet finished the race (https://www.theguardian.com/media/2016/aug/27/rio-2016-usain-bolt-getty-images-dawn-airey-bbc).  Usain Bolt knows that in a short race, getting off to a good start is critical because fractions of a second means the difference between winning and losing.  In life, winning is not a matter of fractions of a second, but in our attitudes as we face what life throws at us.

We get a fresh start each day when we wake up.  How well our day gets started often is a function of how well we are prepared.  Some days we get off to great starts, and others, well, sometimes we don’t.  Recently, a college friend of my wife sent us a prayer that my wife read to me which really resonated with me as a way to get a good start spiritually every day.  The prayer has no attribution, so I cannot tell you who created it.  Here it is:

O God, this morning I have come into the quietness and stillness of your presence to begin this day so that out of this moment I make take with me a quiet SERENITY which will last me through the rough and tumble of this day’s life. I have come to you to find WISDOM so that today I may not make any foolish mistakes, but will make decisions based on your direction.

I have come to you to find PEACE so that nothing may worry or upset me all through the day and I may approach each challenge with inner strength. I have come to you to find LOVE so that all through the day nothing may make me bitter or unforgiving or unkind and that I may approach each person with the spirit of love and compassion.

I have come to begin the day with YOU, to continue it with YOU, and to end it with YOU, so that it will be a day which will have in it nothing to regret and everything to cherish. Lord, help me to remember that every morning is a new beginning..…. a precious gift, and that nothing can happen to me today that YOU and I, standing together in the strength YOU impart, can’t handle. Make of this day a lovely work of art – to your glory.

Hear this morning prayer, in Christ’s name and by His power.  AMEN

Just as Jesus gave us the Lord’s prayer as a model prayer, you might consider making this your model prayer to start your day.  It contains all that is needed to get off to a good start.

Bill Mann

WORSHIP:   Sis and I enjoy listening to the following song every morning.  It also helps in kickstarting our day.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1XrbuOoKFw

Leave a Reply

